snickfic (
snickfic) wrote in
mcu_cosmic2019-03-07 07:49 am
Entry tags:
CAPTAIN MARVEL REACTION POST
HELLO FRIENDS IT IS THAT TIME. Post ALLLLL your feelings here! Squee! Shippiness! Disappointment! Speculation! Links to relevant content! Feel free to link to your reaction posts elsewhere as well.
HERE WE GOOOOOO.
HERE WE GOOOOOO.

no subject
Did you know this film is set in the ‘90s? This film is not entirely certain you know that it’s set in the ‘90s. It is going to throw some more ‘90s references at you just to make sure. Wait, maybe you missed it somehow. Here, have even more ‘90s references! Radio Shack! CD-ROMs! TLC! Grunge flannel! NiN! Moar ‘90s all the time!
They’ve really come a long way with that youngification sfx. Almost entirely (but not quite) out of the uncanny valley now. Young Samuel L. Jackson looks a hair more natural than young Clark Gregg, which I suspect is more due to the conventional wisdom regarding black people aging vs. white people aging than any kind of digital wizardry.
Side note, Brie Larson and Samuel L. have CRAZY chemistry which means now I ship them together. Maybe OT3 with Maria Rambeau? I will think on this further.
I would watch an entire other movie just focusing on pilot shenanigans. “The Adventures of Maria and Carol: Now With Even More Blatant Top Gun References”.
Which is probably my one current criticism, if you can call it that - the pacing is brisk, and the storytelling is good, and the screenplay+actors do a heroic job of jamming as much character relationships and emotion as they do in between all the explosions. But I wouldn’t have minded the running time being even longer, honestly, to see all the in-between bits that were cut, shown only in flashback, or only hinted at. There was A Lot of story to hurtle through at top speed, no lie.
I suspect the fact that a woman co-directed and co-wrote, and more women contributed to the story, is why this passes the Bechdel Test with stunning ease and is definitely the least problematic Marvel movie with regard to women. In fact, I keep discovering that all my favorite blockbuster movies of the last few years - the ones that have matured and made a marked leap in quality over the rocky comic book movies of yesteryear were all directed and/or written by a non-white and/or non-male person. HMMMMMMMM.
The sfx really do look stunning. Like, I really enjoyed Aquaman, and the sfx were...fine in that movie, but Marvel is on a whole different level, seriously. That’s what Disney money will get ya, I guess.
Comic book fans will find themselves on the receiving end of some interesting plot twists. I was more surprised than I would’ve been if I’d gone in without any preconceptions stemming from comic book knowledge, actually.
And my verdict is: I like what the MCU did with it. Especially because it turned into another not-so-subtle anti-imperialism metaphor with some pointed jabs about refugees seeking asylum, and I am 100% here for that.
no subject
I really liked what they did with that! I've seen theories for years that Captain Marvel would be the entrypoint into the MCU version of Secret Invasion, where some people get impersonated by Skrulls for a long time and no one realizes, and I love that we just cut that whole storyline off at the knees and got this one instead. :')
no subject
It’s literally about asylum seekers! And the native-born citizens who immediately and with no reservations jump to help them find asylum as soon as they realize that the Empire Metaphor has been lying to them. What a gloriously blatant middle finger to all nativists everywhere, endorsed and backed by one of the biggest economic powerhouses anywhere, completely immune to their tiny xenophobic fists.
no subject
I was FUCKING DREADING that, including the supposed proof that 'oh some of your faves will have been Skrulls'! Ugh.
no subject
YES, SAME.
no subject
I enjoyed it! Amazing job on showing relationships. I was expecting less emotions and more punching to rock and roll. Even though I made it to the theater and free of spoilers and other people reactions, I still get so intense about watching Marvel films that I always needs to seen them 2x just to get past my own expectations.
I adored all the characters.
They really went all out for some interesting compositions. Nice.
Edit: More thoughts at my journal.
no subject
You could *hear* the gasp in my theater, and then people started applauding. It was so touching.
no subject
no subject
Honestly, the "hero becomes fully realised" moment with that montage of past Carol getting up and up and up again meanwhile the Kree realise they're actually fucked as she's winning against the AI, I died.
And then I died some more when Carol cut through Yon-Rogg's manipulative dude bullshit by refusing to play his game, I literally clutched my heart, it was that good.
The Skrull reversal was excellent! I understand they've been villains in the comic books so I expected them to stay villains, but nah.
All the humor was great, all the actors were great. I loved Fury getting proper screentime for once and it looked like Jackson was having fun with it too.
The end scene made me like 100% more excited for Endgame.
no subject
I'm not feeling too coherent abt how much I liked this movie.
NGL, I approached it with rather high expectations and the movie delivered pretty much 99.999999% of the time. My ONLY GRIPE is that we didn't get any Carol/Younger!Rhodey mentioned or shown (like in the comic books).
I have a longish post abt my feels to write (my notes were copious) and I'll link back to it.
The end scene made me even MORE excited for Endgame. ;_____;
Re: I'm not feeling too coherent abt how much I liked this movie.
no subject
and that END CREDITS SCENE even though i just watched a whole movie with her in it when she showed up i still gasped as loud as i did in the infinity war scene where her logo showed up on the pager.
god i don't even know what i want to say except i want to go see it again right now and also i need endgame to HURRY UP.
no subject
no subject
I have a (spoilery) reaction post at my journal but will pull one bit out to share here:
Maybe the montage of Getting Back Up Again was a bit heavyhanded, but I loved it, and it reminded me of Miles in Into The Spider-Verse. There's a lot of parallels between both films: the person who becomes powerful by being in the right place at the right time, who becomes a hero by what they decide to do with that power, who keeps getting back up again.
no subject
no subject
(I am about 90% sure there's a similar walking-up-the-power-beam scene in Earth's Mightiest Heroes - which has a completely different plot about Skrulls - but I've had a migraine today and can't watch moving pictures, so I can't check it out.)
no subject
no subject
It actually reminded me of the last episode of Buffy where she gives that speech, "Every girl who can stand up, will stand up" and they show girls all over the world getting back up again. One of them is even playing baseball, just like young Carol.
no subject
no subject
I really loved the way that she just did her job without any particular angst. There was a setback, but she just got back to her feet and went about doing it. No drama, just do it.
Annette Bening did a great job as the Supreme Intelligence and Mar-Vell/Dr. Lawson, and Ben Mendelson as the Skrull leader (and in the end, ally) was an excellent choice.
Overall, I'm happy with it. I was just hoping to be entertained, and I was and I enjoyed it, and I'll go back and watch it again.
no subject
I really loved both Bening and Mendelsohn. They had me in the palm of their hands pretty much from the beginning.
no subject
Yeah, even I didn't realise it until I walked out of the theatre and was giving non-spoilers to friends in a Discord room.
I really want the sequel to have more of both of them. And be set in the present day. And show us Monica and what she's doing, and have Maria Hill take over the Fury-type role. (Okay, so, I want Maria Hill to be much more in everything in MCU, and not always paired up with Fury, but this is me, so...)
Please, please, please let there be a CapMarvel 2. Please...
no subject
no subject
But I figured that, even if the numbers weren't absofuckinglutely amazing, we'd get something after Endgame.
I guess, also, I'm a little worried since I saw it at 5pm the day after it opened and the theatre was at the local megaplex cinema had 300+ seats and maybe 20 people were there watching it. I mean, I chose the time as the least likely to have people there, but I expected at least half-full...
no subject
no subject
no subject
(I was hoping to take Older Child to see it (he's 12) but I was flattened by a migraine on Sunday, so it'll be sometime this weekend instead.)
no subject
In the mid-credits scene, when Carol showed up at the Remnants-of-the-Avengers HQ, the whole audience broke into cheers and applause. What did she actually say to Natasha, please? Because we couldn't hear it. I'll go back and see another showing over spring break when I can go midweek and it'll be quieter, but meanwhile I have no idea.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I love what they did with Mar-Vell. In the comics Mar-Vell is a dude, the first Captain Marvel, and I think he and Carol might have been romantically involved? Having her instead be an older woman Carol looked up to was fantastic.
I also thought the Themes worked well. Carol getting told how she should feel by a man, Carol telling that man that she didn't have anything to prove to him: v good. The big scene where the Supreme Intelligence tells Carol that without the Kree she's only human felt VERY MUCH like it was lifted straight from BtVS Becoming Part 2, and was satisfying for the same reason. And did I get that right, that the thing behind the ear that Jude Law and co said was the source of her powers was actually dampening them? Because if so, I reeeally liked that.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
Maria/Carol is my new ship forever though. And I’m super here for all of the Carol & Fury buddy cop shenanigans, because I just loved how they played off of each other.
I am 100% here for more of Carol’s intergalactic adventures, Marvel!!!!
no subject
no subject
no subject