lynnenne (
lynnenne) wrote in
mcu_cosmic2019-07-28 11:16 am
Entry tags:
Thor 4 Confirmed
Hello, and welcome to your weekly Sunday discussion post! (Apologies for the lack of post last Sunday, I had a personal crisis and was otherwise occupied.) This week's topic:
Marvel Confirms 4th Thor Movie at San Diego Comic Con (TV Guide link - warning for overall plot spoilers)
The Comic Con announcement confirmed 4 things:
I'm excited to see a female Thor, but I kind of wish it was Val? No particular reason except that I'd rather watch Tessa Thomson on screen than Natalie Portman. But I suppose Val already has her own superpowers, and there's always room for another female hero.
I enjoyed Thor: Ragnarok so I'm happy to see Taika directing again, but I know not everyone shares that opinion.
What are your thoughts?
Marvel Confirms 4th Thor Movie at San Diego Comic Con (TV Guide link - warning for overall plot spoilers)
The Comic Con announcement confirmed 4 things:
- There will be a new Thor movie.
- Taika Watiti is back to direct.
- Valkyrie is back as well (YAY!).
- The new film, "Love and Thunder," will follow the comics storyline of a female God of Thunder - none other than Jane Foster, Thor's ex-girlfriend, played by Natalie Portman.
I'm excited to see a female Thor, but I kind of wish it was Val? No particular reason except that I'd rather watch Tessa Thomson on screen than Natalie Portman. But I suppose Val already has her own superpowers, and there's always room for another female hero.
I enjoyed Thor: Ragnarok so I'm happy to see Taika directing again, but I know not everyone shares that opinion.
What are your thoughts?

no subject
Jane Foster was my favourite character in the Thor films and I am still bitter over how they treated her character and the Thor/Jane relationship. So not having her in Raganork was a huge disappointment - I still haven't watched the film in full.
I am hopeful however that Taika will treat her character better, as I like how he handled Valkyrie's character. Crossed fingers for some good friendship there!
Like you I am surprised that we are getting a new Thor film as I thought he was with the Guardians...though apparently it is set before GotG Vol 3?
It will be interesting to see how the film explains that aspect.
no subject
Val was indeed awesome, and a friendship between her and Jane would be fantastic! Thor wouldn't stand a chance. :D
no subject
I can't make my mind up - current Marvel protagonist or a new woman character?
(Sorry if this is off-topic, but I am curious to hear your opinion as someone who knows more about Marvel than me, who is still playing catch up :D)
no subject
no subject
I can imagine the cool havoc Val and Carol might wreck!
no subject
no subject
As a love interest for Val that would also be great - they can build on an established character or develop a little-known one. Whether they chose a comic character or completely original I am excited :D
no subject
no subject
I am also really interested in how they will deal with Thor himself. Also I dunno what will happen without Loki. Their relationship was a big, solid core of the Thor series, I think.
no subject
I am curious how they will handle Thor as well, since his relationship with Loki has been a huge part of his story arc. I wonder if they will tie Thor's story in the film into the TV Loki series? The Loki there isn't his redeemed brother, so there is possibility for angst - depending of course if the Loki series is set in the 'main' MCU verse and not one of the multiple realities created.
If Jane remains as the new Thor / wielder of the Hammer then there is the opening for Thor to explore a new relationship with this non redeemed Loki.
no subject
no subject
Late comment is late (sorry!)
It makes me super happy that, IF this going to be the actual!last Thor movie, we're getting a lot more into SPACE SHENANIGANS. Also, it's v. cool that Val and Jane will be hanging out.
My one hope is that Taika and co avoid the canon from Jane!Thor from the comics. It left a really bitter taste in my mouth when I first read it and deffo broke my heart by the end of the run.
At this point + based on what I've seen from Taika, I do place a lot of trust on him to NOT mess up this movie. :D
Re: Late comment is late (sorry!)